My Top 10 Smartphone Apps

I am trying to get into the habit of writing something here every day, even if it is just a sentence. So bear with me, faithful readers!

PHONE

Apps  I  Use and Like

Understand that to recommend an app, I *really* have to find it easy to use and supremely useful in my daily life. I am not a “techy” person. Tech serves its purpose, but I would prefer a pen and paper most times. (Although I wish I could have an “undo” button for life.) And I miss the ability to leave the house and not be contacted, or expect to be contacted. (Of course, it is super convenient and solves many problems, blah blah blah. Let me be a Luddite for a moment…. she says on her blog…..) Where was I going with this, again? RIGHT!

10 Smartphone Apps I LOVE

Ok, so you probably know about/use some of these fairly regularly. But here are MY reasons for loving them, as well as some you might not have heard of!

calm.pngCalm – (free, in-app purchases) great for destressing, centering, focusing, and calming. I wish there was more free content (lots of in-app purchases), but those that are free are great, and I use them almost daily. One of my besties loves the sleep stories.

MeditationMeditation Studio – ($4) another wonderful mindfulness app with lots more content, including many targeted guided meditations and courses. Totally worth the price! With anxiety, depression, and ADHD, this app is an important tool for me.

LibrivoxLibrivox – (free) public domain audiobooks read by volunteers. You have a limited selection, as all the books must be in the public domain (not under copyright), but the classics are worth it. Most books have a few different versions, so you can pick your favorite reader. I’m a bibliophile and I’ve got a few favorite classic novels that I just LOVE hearing read aloud, just like when I was a little girl.

AUDIBLEAudible – (free trial, paid content) this is the premiere professional audiobook site. You can pay for a subscription, or pay as you go for the titles. And tons of podcasts provide codes for a free audiobook. Neil Gaiman reads many of his own books! Awesome! I love that even if you decide to cancel your membership, you can ALWAYS listen to the books you’ve paid for. Yay!

TIMER Time Timer – ($1 – $5 depending on device) a godsend for people like me who have trouble with time. As their website states, this is a “visual timer designed to ‘show’ the passage of time through the use of a patented red disk that disappears as time elapses.” It helps me better understand and track time for each task.

WHATSAPPWhatsApp – (free) a messaging and calling app that works all over the world. Great for avoiding text charges, and allows you to keep in touch with people using foreign phones! I use it to keep in touch with friends from Italy, UK, and USA.

TINYTinybeans – (free) a *secure* online baby photo journal that you can safely and easily share with family and friends! Requires a password for access. You can also opt to have a daily or weekly summary email sent to you with the photos. One of my besties just had her first baby, and since I am far away, this makes me feel like I’m still a part of the family.

WAZEWaze – (free) my mom (who taught me how to text) turned me on to this app. It uses crowd-sourcing data to keep it up to date on traffic and road conditions, and it will alert you of hazards, cops, and quicker routes. You can pick the navigation voice. It also helps you find the nearest and cheapest gas stations. I drive long distances to visit family and friends, so this is wonderful.

SPOTSpotify – (free, with paid upgrades) Most people know about this. Music streaming service, but you can create custom playlists of certain songs. You can also share them with friends, and see what your friends are listening to (if they’re public). I love the amount of control I have. There are public playlists, so you can discover new music, or pick a playlist based on your mood, but you always have your personal music, too.

FACEFacetime – (free built-in iTunes feature) This is a unique to iPhones app, and it’s essentially Skype for your phone, but I have to give it props. I never really used it much until recently (because vanity). I use it a LOT now because I’ve discovered it helps me and my loved ones feel more connected than just listening to a disembodied voice on the phone. There’s something special about seeing the face of someone you care about. I have a weekly Facetime date with one of my besties, and when I’m homesick, I use it to call my parents.

What apps do you use all the time, and why?

Save

Leave a Reply

