Drama Doc’s Happiness Project Kickoff

Today kicks off DramaDoc’s “Happiness Project,” inspired by Gretchen Rubin’s book “The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun”.  When thinking about what would make me happier, I came up with a few major life changes, as well as many smaller attitudinal and daily habit changes.  To tackle the larger goals, I am also including some aspects of another book, “Your Best Year Yet!: Ten Questions for Making the Next Twelve Months Your Most Successful Ever,” by Jinny S. Ditzler.  I previously did a smaller Best Year Yet with a friend, and that year was life changing!

What IS a Happiness Project?
As Rubin’s website explains:
A “happiness project” is an approach to changing your life. First is the preparation stage, when you identify what brings you joy, satisfaction, and engagement, and also what brings you guilt, anger, boredom, and remorse. Second is the making of resolutions, when you identify the concrete actions that will boost your happiness. Then comes the interesting part: keeping your resolutions.

Why am I doing it?
Like Gretchen, I love my job, and my friends, but I feel I don’t appreciate life enough, that I gripe and complain too much, that I am getting in the way of my own happiness.  Unlike Gretchen, I don’t have a career, or a stable life situation, or economic security.  That’s where “Best Year Yet” comes in for me; it will help me get back on track.

Why am I blogging about this?
Accountability!  I’ve been inspired by reading accounts of other people’s projects on their blogs, and I hope to inspire you with my story.  This blog is about my journey, and this, hopefully, will be a great help to me.

Details
Every month I will post my resolutions, progress reports, and a monthly wrap-up.  Patience is not my forte, so I decided to kick things off mid-month.  But the resolutions are cumulative, so I won’t drop them on the first of each month, I’ll add on NEW resolutions, and keep working on the old ones.  I know that I will struggle with not giving up when I’m not perfect, but as Gretchen taught me, it’s the big picture that matters.

Join me!
Gretchen created a website to help track your progress on your own Happiness Project!  Check out the Happiness Project Toolbox, and join me!

What resolutions would you make?  What are some that can benefit everyone?  What books have inspired you in this way?

Save

One thought on “Drama Doc’s Happiness Project Kickoff

Leave a Reply

