Things That Make My Day

Double Rainbow Wide Desktop Background

When working a job that is so manic, with drastic highs and lows spaced out by long periods of boredom, I’ve found that having a few things to look forward helps quite a bit.  Here are a few of my little indulgences while working.

Blasting the good songs on the radio, the cheesier the better!
Recent examples include:
“Forget You” by Cee-Lo Green
“Teenage Dream” by Katy Perry
Anything by Lady Gaga, Adele, Beyoncé, or Madonna
The ultimate car jam song, “Bohemian Rhapsody” by Queen

Dairy Queen Blizzards
I always thought they were a Southern entity, but I recently found one up here in the cold North!  I was literally skipping up to the counter.

The Perfect Beverage
Whether it’s a Dunkin Donuts hot chocolate in winter, a Starbucks soy gingerbread latte at Christmas, or fresh squeezed lemonade on a hot day, sometimes nothing is more comforting than a delicious beverage.

Pretty Nitrile Gloves
It seems simple, but it gives me a little perk to find pretty gloves.  They’re a big part of my day, and it’s something fun to look out for at hospitals and nursing homes.

Good Hospital Food
They’re rare, but good hospital cafeterias do exist!  There is one in particular in our service area that I particularly like; however, I don’t get to go there every day. The same hospital also has really yummy soft serve in a cafe that’s only open 4 hours a day.  I go there even less, so it’s a good treat.

The Perfect Storm of Awesome Coworkers
There are days when all the cool, competent, fun people are working: EMTs, medics, dispatchers, fire, police.  A bad dispatcher can totally screw your day up, and working with medics who hate EMTs is never fun. Other first responders like police and firefighters can either be a help or a hindrance to patient care. Nurses put up with a lot, so when they’re cranky, look out!  When you get the best of the best, you’re laughing all day, going on good calls with competent people, and generally kicking ass.

What brightens your day, or gets you through the tough ones?
Post your favorites below!

Save

2 thoughts on “Things That Make My Day

  1. 1) my co-workers and their sense of humor!
    2) the metro crossword puzzle during my lunch break… I’ve unfortunately had less time to do it recently
    3) The slush/italian ice stands on the street corners in the summer
    4) Listening to good music at my desk… especially when personalities clash (there’s 10 of us working in the same room – personalities will clash at times)
    5) when drug companies bring us lunch (a.k.a. “drug lunch”)
    6) sometimes a small mcflurry with m&m’s or iced coffee (depending on my mood) around 3 in the afternoon
    7) a cup of hot tea at my desk
    8) checking out the hot EMT’s/UPS delivery guys/outreach workers/police officers/other outside attractive male employees, and listening to my co-workers’ comments
    9) My coffee shop where I get my coffee and sometimes chocolate chip muffin or bacon, egg and cheese english muffin, and listen in on the conversation that the police officers from the nearby police station, who enjoying post/pre duty breakfast, are having.
    10) Outside work activities: hanging out with some of my co-workers outside of the office, softball, etc.

    that’s all I can think of for now!

Leave a Reply

